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very baby deserves a chance for ahealthy 

life. Ifsomeone you know is considering 

abandoning a baby, :let her know there a 

other options. For three days (72 hours ) 

after' birth, a baby can beturrendered to 

MI at any hospital or Ire 

How does it work? 
A distressed parent who is unable or 
unwilling to care for a baby can legally, 
confidentially, and safely surrender a 
baby within three days (72 hours) of 
birth. The baby must be handed to an 
employee at a hospital or fire station in 
Los Angeles County. As long as the 

shows no sign of abuse or neglect, 
no name or other information is 
required. In case the parent changes his 
or her mind at a later date and wants the 
baby hack, staff will use bracelets to help 
connect them to each other. One 
bracelet will be placed on the baby, and 
a matching bracelet will be given to the 
parent or other surrendering adult. 

What if a parent wants 
the baby back? 
Parents who change their minds can 
begin the process of reclaiming their 
baby within 14 days. These parents 
should call the Los Angeles County 
Department of Children and Family 
Services at 1-800-540-4000. 

Can only a parent 
bring in the baby? 
No. While in most cases a parent will 
bring in the baby, the Law allows other 
people to bring in the baby if they have 
lawful custody. 

Does the parent or surrendering 
adult have to call before 
bringing in the baby? 
Na, A parent or surrendering adult can 
bring in a baby anytime, 2.4 hours a day, 
7 days a week, as longI as the parent or 
surrendering adult surrenders the baby 
to someone who works at the hospital 
or fire station. 

Does the parent or surrendering 
adult have to tell anything to 
the people taking the baby? 
No. However, hospital or fire station 
personnel will ask the surrendering party 
to fill our a questionnaire designed to 

gather important medical history 
information, which is very useful in 
caring for the baby. The questionnaire 
includes a stamped return envelope and 
can be sent in at a later time. 

What happens to the baby? 
The baby will be examined and given 
medical treatment. Upon release from 
the hospital, social workers immediately 
place the baby in a safe and loving home 
and begin the adoption process. 

What happens to the parent 
or surrendering adult? 
Once the parent or surrendering 
adult surrenders the baby to hospital 
or fire station personnel. they may 
leave at any time. 

Why is California doing this? 
The purpose of the Safely Surrendered 
Baby Law is to protect babies from 
being abandoned, hurt or killed by their 
parents. You may have heard tragic 
stories of babies left in dumpsters or 
public bathrooms. Their parents may 
have been under severe emotional 
distress. The mothers may have hidden 
Their pregnancies. fearful of what would 
happen if their families found out 
Because they were afraid and had no 
one or nowhere to turn for help, they 
abandoned their babies. Abandoning a 
baby is illegal and places the baby in 
extreme danger. Tho often, it results in 

the baby's death. The Safely 
Surrendered Baby Law prevents this 
tragedy from ever happening again in 
California_ 
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A baby's story 
Early . in.the morning.on..APriL9;:20051.a.healthr baby boy was safely surrendered to noises at Harbor- • • 	baby 	 . 
UCLAMcdical : .Center.„.The:WOntatWhol'brought the baby to the hoipiral ideniiried•hetiell as the baby's aunt 

and seated the baby's Mother 	 CO bring the baby to the hospital on her behalf. The aunt Was given a 

bracelet with a number Matching the atildet placed on the baby; this Would provide some identification in the event. the . 
mother changed her 	 d Min abont sarrendCririg the baby and wished t o 	 14-day . priOd allowed by. .• 	••••.. 	 ..• 	. • 	• 	 c 	 .. • • . 

•i : Law. •The aunt was also:prOvided . Wit1(antedical questionnaire and said'Slie,.y.iLildk4 ,:c%the,MOther eutriPlereand'nad •bacc .  in : 
• 

 
the stamped return envelope provided. The baby was examined by medical staffand.Pronottricd healthy andf011 -7term.. He was.pliteed • • 
with a loving family that had been approved to adopt hint by the Department of Children and Family SeiN:iees.' .  
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Cada recien nacido se merere 	i rtunidad 

de toner una Lida saludable. Si alguien que 

usted conoce estd pensando en abandonar a u 

recien nacido, informele que tiene otras 

options. Hasut tres &as (72 horm) despite's d 

rultimiento, se puede entregar U71 reedit nat.' 

al personal de eualquier hospital o cuartel de 

bomberos idol condado de Los Angeks.. 

,Como funciona? 
El padre/madre con dificultades quc no 

pucda o no quicra cuidar dc su mien 

nacido pucdc cntrcgado cn forma !cp.!, 

confidential y scgura dcntro dc los tics dias 

(72 horas) dcl nacimicnto. El bcbre tick scr 

cntrcgado a on cmplc-ado dc cualquicr 

hospital o cuartd de bombcros del Condado 

de Los Angeles. Sicmprc que cl bcbe no 

prcscntc signos dc abuso o ncgligcncia. no 

sera ncccsario suministrar nombrcs ni 

informacitin alguna. Si d padre/madre 

cambia dc opini6n postcriormcnrc y dcsca 

rccuperar a su bebe, los trabaiadores 

utilizaran brazalctcs para podcr vincularlos. 

El bcbe Ilcvara un brazaletc v cl 

padrchnache o cl adulto quc lo cntryguc 

recibith un brazalcte igual. 

IQue pasa si el padre/madre 
desea recuperar a su babe? 
Los padres quc cambien tic opinion 

pucdcn comcnzar cl proccso de rcchunar a 

su recien nacido dcntro de los bi dias. 

EstOS padres dcbcran Hamar al 

Dtpartarrtcnto dc Scrvicios pars NI OS y 

Familias (Department of Children and 

Family Services) dcl Condado 8c Los 

Angeles al 1-800-540-4000. 

zSglo los padres podran llevar 
al recien nacido? 
No. Si bicn cn la mayoria dc los casos 

son los padres los quc llcvan at bebe, is 

Icy permite que orras personas lo hagan 

si rienen eustorlia 

Los padres o el adulto que 
entrega al babe deben ilamar 
antes de llevar al babe? 
No. El padrc/madrc o adulco pucdc licvar 

al kbe cn cualquier moment°, las 24 

horas dcl dia, los 7 dias dr is scmana, 

sicropre y cuando cncregucn a su bcbe a un 

cmpleado del hospital o cuand dc 

1301111:4CTOS. 

necesario que el padre/ 
madre o adult() diga algo a las 
personas que reciben al babe? 
No. Sin embargo. cl personal dcl hospital o 

cuartcl do bombcros lc pcdira a la persona 

quc cntregue al bebe gut Ilcnc un 

cucstionaria con is finalidad dc recabar 

anteccdcntes medicos importhntcs, quc 

rcsultan de gran utilidad pars ruidar bicn 

del bcbe. El cucstionario indur un sobrc 

con cl scllo postal pagado para coviarlo cn 

oars) momcnto. 

4Clue pasara con el babe? 
El bcbe sera cxaminado y lc brindarin 

arenciOn medica. Cando In den el alca dcl 

hospital, los trabajadorcs socialcs 

inmcdiatamcntc ubicarin all bcbe cn un 

hogar scguro dondc cstara ken atrnaido, y 

sc comenzara el proceso de adoption. 

40ue pasara con el padre/madre 
a adulto que entregue al babe? 
Una vez quc los padres o adulto hayan 

cntrcgado al bck al personal del hospital o 

cuartel de bombcros, pucdcn irsc cn 

cualquicr momcnto. 

zPor que se esta hacienda esto 
en California? ? 
La finalidad de la Ley de Entrega de 13ebes 

sin Peligro cs protcgcr a los bcbds para quc 

no scan abandonados. lastimaclos o 

rnuertos poi sus padres. Listed 

probablemente hays cscuchado historias 

trigicas sobrc bcbes abandonados cn 

basurcros o cn banns publicos. Los padres 

dc csos bcbes probablcmcnte hagan cstado 

pasando por dificultatics cmocionalcs 

graves. Las maclres pucdcn habcr ocultaclo 

su cmharazo, per tensor a in que pasaria si 

sus familias se enteraran. Abandonsron a 

sus bchca porquc rcnian micdo y no rcnian 

nadir a quicn pcdir ayuda. El abandons) 

dc un rciien nacido es ilcgal y pone al lack 

cn una situation dc pcligro cruel-no, Muy 

a mcnudo el abandon() provoca la muerte 

dcl bche. La Ley de Entrega de Bebes sin 

Peligro impitIc quc vuclva a succdcr cats 

tragcdia cn California. 

01)a-f!, 

ri a de un bebe 
A la tmat ana temprano dcl dia 9 dc abril do 2005. ac cruscge un rccien nacido saluclablc a las cofcrinci*deb.... 

Harlior-.11C1.).\ Medical 'Center. La mujer tree llcvo el cecico nacido al hospital Se dia a conoccr camp la ria dcl 

•• bebe.:y dila quc la madre le habil pcdido quc llcvara al bcbe al hospital cn su nombrc. Lc cruscgaron a la ria un :  • 

Li:Italc-Le con un mitner6 qrx coincidis con la pubcra dcl bebe; cats) Icrviria coma 	 cn caso de que•la .tiatirc::::  

cambiara (lc opinion in respc rn a la entrega dcl kbe u cfccidicra rccuperarlo dentin dcl periods) de l4 dia,; que . perinit,:7 -eSta 

Tarnbien Ic dieron a ilatia.un ctresti,3nario mectico, v ells dijo que is madre lo lIcnaria v 	enviaria uc vuclta dent-to dcl•Solirer:On . 

. fra.nqueo pagado quc lc habian dads. 	personal rnedi..So examin° al bche y sc dcterminci quc cstaba saludahic v a terrnino. 	I I bcbe Err 

tibiGado ..,:on•tioi buena 	quc ya haka sits) apcnbada pars adoptarlo p(n cl Dcpartamcnro cic Scrvicios para Minos y 
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