EXHIBIT D
SAFELY SURRENDERED BABY LAW

Posters and Fact Sheets are available in English and Spanish for printing purposes at the following website:

www.babysafela.org
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[image: image2.jpg]California’s Safely Surrendered
Baby Law allows parents or
other persons, with lawful
custody, which means anyone
to whom the parent has given
permission to confidentially
surrender a baby. As long as
the baby is three days (72
hours) of age or younger and
has not been abused or
neglected, the baby may be
surrendered without fear of

arrest or prosecution.

story

A distressed parent who is unable or
unwilling to care for a baby can legally,
confidentially, and safely surrender a
baby within three days (72 hours) of
birth. The baby must be handed to an
employee at a hospital or fire station in
Los Angeles County. As long as the
baby shows no sign of abuse or neglect,
no name or other information is
required. In case the parent changes his
or her mind at a later date and wants the
baby back, staff will use bracelets to help
connect them to each other. One
bracelet will be placed on the baby, and
a matching bracelet will be given to the

parent or other surrendering adult.

Parents who change their minds can
begin the process of reclaiming their
baby within 14 days. These parents
should call the Los Angeles County

Department of Children and Family
Services at 1-800-540-4000.

No. While in most cases a parent will
bring in the baby, the Law allows other
people to bring in the baby if they have
lawful custody.

No. A parent or surrendering adult can

bring in a baby anytime, 24 hours a day,
7 days a week, as long as the parent or
surrendering adult surrenders the baby
to someone who works at the hospital

or fire station.

No. However, hospital or fire station

personnel will ask the surrendering party
to fill out a questionnaire designed to
gather important medical history
information, which is very useful in
caring for the baby. The questionnaire
includes a stamped return envelope and

can be sent in at a later time.

The baby will be examined and given
medical treatment. Upon release from
the hospital, social workers immediately
place the baby in a safe and loving home
and begin the adoption process.

i

Once the parent or surrendering

adult surrenders the baby to hospital

or fire station personnel, they may

leave at any time.

ose of the Safely Surrendered
Baby Law is to protect babies from
being abandoned, hurt or killed by their
parents. You may have heard tragic

The purp

stories of babies left in dumpsters or
public bathrooms. Their parents may
have been under severe emotional
distress. The mothers may have hidden
their pregnancies, fearful of what would
happen if their families found out.
Because they were afraid and had no
one or nowhere to turn for help, they
abandoned their babies. Abandoning a
baby is illegal and places the baby in
extreme danger. Too often, it results in
the baby’s death. The Safely
Surrendered Baby Law prevents this
tragedy from ever happening again in
California.

Early in the morning on April 9, 2005, a healthy baby boy was safely surrendered to nurses at Harbor-

UCLA Medical Center. The woman who brought the baby to the hospital identified herself as the baby’s aunt
and stated the baby’s mother had asked her to bring the baby to the hospital on her behalf. The aunt was given a
bracelet with a number matching the anklet placed on the baby; this would provide some identification in the event the
mother changed her mind about surrendering the baby and wished to reclaim the baby in the 14-day period allowed by the

Law. The aunt was also provided with a medical questionnaire and said she would have the mother complete and mail back in
the stamped return envelope provided. The baby was examined by medical staff and pronounced healthy and full-term. He was placed
with a loving family that had been approved to adopt him by the Department of Children and Family Services.
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[image: image4.jpg]La Ley de Entrega de Bebés sin
Peligro de California permite la
entrega confidencial de un recién
nacido por parte de sus padres u
otras personas con custodia legal,
es decir cualquier persona a quien
los padres le hayan dado permiso.
Siempre que el bebé tenga tres
dias (72 horas) de vida o menos, y
no haya sufrido abuso ni
negligencia, pueden entregar al
recién nacido sin temor de ser

arrestados o procesados.

El padre/madre con dificultades que no
pueda o no quiera cuidar de su recién
nacido puede entregarlo en forma legal,
confidencial y segura dentro de los tres dfas
(72 horas) del nacimiento. El bebé debe ser
entregado a un empleado de cualquier
hospital o cuartel de bomberos del Condado
de Los Angeles. Siempre que el bebé no
presente signos de abuso o negligencia, no
serd necesario suministrar nombres ni
informacién alguna. Siel padre/madre
cambia de opinién posteriormente y desea
recuperar a su bebé, los trabajadores
utilizardn brazaletes para poder vincularlos.
El bebé llevard un brazalete y el
padre/madre o el adulto que lo entregue
recibird un brazalete igual.

Los padres que cambien de opinién
pueden comenzar el proceso de reclamar a
su recién nacido dentro de los 14 dfas.
Estos padres deberdn llamar al
Departamento de Servicios para Nifios y
Familias (Department of Children and
Family Services) del Condado de Los
Angeles al 1-800-540-4000.

No. Si bien en la mayorifa de los casos
son los padres los que llevan al bebé, la
ley permite que otras personas lo hagan
st tenen custodia legal.

No. El padre/madre o adulto puede llevar
al bebé¢ en cualquier momento, las 24
horas del dia, los 7 difas de la semana,
siempre y cuando entreguen a su bebé a un
empleado del hospital o cuartel de
bomberos.

No. Sin embargo, ¢l personal del hospital o
cuartel de bomberos le pedird a la persona
que entregue al bebé que llene un
cuestionario con la finalidad de recabar
antecedentes médicos importantes, que
resultan de gran utilidad para cuidar bien
del bebé. El cuestionario incluye un sobre
con ¢l sello postal pagado para enviarlo en
otro momento.

El beb¢ serd examinado y le brindardn
atencién médica. Cuando le den el alta del
hospital, los trabajadores sociales
inmediatamente ubicardn al bebé en un
hogar seguro donde estard bien atendido, y
se comenzard el proceso de adopcién.

Una vez que los padres o adulto hayan
entregado al bebé al personal del hospital o
cuartel de bomberos, pueden irse en
cualquier momento.

La finalidad de la Ley de Entrega de Bebés
sin Peligro es proteger a los bebés para que
no sean abandonados, lastimados o
muertos por sus padres. Usted
probablemente haya escuchado historias
trégicas sobre bebés abandonados en
basureros o en bafios publicos. Los padres
de esos bebés probablemente hayan estado
pasando por dificultades emocionales
graves. Las madres pueden haber ocultado
su embarazo, por temor a lo que pasarfa si
sus familias se enteraran. Abandonaron a
sus bebés porque tenian miedo y no tenfan
nadic a quien pedir ayuda. El abandono
de un recién nacido es ilegal y pone al bebé
en una situacién de peligro extremo. Muy
a menudo ¢l abandono provoca la muerte
del bebé. La Ley de Entrega de Bebés sin
Peligro impide que vuclva a suceder esta
tragedia en California.

Historia de

A la mafiana temprano del dia 9 de abril de 2005, se entregd un recién nacido saludable a las enfermeras del
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center. La mujer que llevé el recién nacido al hospital se dio a conocer como la tia del
bebé, y dijo que la madre le habia pedido que llevara al bebé al hospital en su nombre. Le entregaron a la tia un
brazalete con un niimero que coincidia con la pulsera del bebé; esto servirfa como identificacién en caso de que la madre »
cambiara de opinién con respecto a la entrega del bebé y decidiera recuperarlo dentro del periodo de 14 dias que permite esta )

ley. También le dieron a la tia un cuestionario médico, y ella dijo que la madre lo llenarfa y lo enviaria de vuelta dentro del sobre con

franqueo pagado que le habfan dado. El personal médico examiné al bebé y se determind que estaba saludable y a término. El bebé fue

ubicado con una buena familia que ya habia sido aprobada para adoptarlo por el Departamento de Servicios para Nifios y Familias.







