LEGAL AND ETHICAL FUNDAMENTALS FOR THE ADVANCED CLINICIAN
	DATE & TIME:
	November 2, 2011
9:00 AM – 4:00 PM 

	


	All registration is completed on the Learning Net prior to the training.  Sign-in begins 30

minutes prior to the training time.  All participants must arrive during the sign-in period.   

Late arrivals will not be admitted.


	PLACE:


	695 S. Vermont Avenue, 7th Floor Conference Room
Los Angeles, CA   90005


	PARKING: 
	Shatto Parking Structure, or 

682 S. Vermont Avenue (flat rate of $5.00)



This course meets the requirements of the Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) for continuing education in the subject of law and ethics.  The six-hour training will provide the advanced clinician with an update on laws, regulations, and ethical standards affecting the practice of psychotherapy in California.  The course will address changes in reporting requirements, confidentiality, supervision, consultation, record keeping, risk management issues, professional and ethical practice and subpoenas and courtroom testimony.  Additional topics will include licensing board actions, malpractice litigation and psychotherapy on the Internet, referrals, advertising, and HIPAA regulations.  Emphasis will also be placed on ethics and culturally competent and strength based practices. 
TARGET AUDIENCE:       DMH licensed clinical staff
	OBJECTIVES:
	As a result of attending this training, participants should:

	
	1) Participants will be able to discuss what happens to the patient’s 
    expectation of privacy or confidentiality and to the Psychotherapist- 
    Patient Privilege when use of the Internet enters the treatment room.
2)  Participants will be able to explain when Patient Targeted Googling (PTG) can be clinically justified and when it can not.

3)  Participants will be able to describe which questions to ask themselves when faced with a request by a patient to be their friend on Facebook.
4)  Participants will be able to describe what their Professional Code(s) of Ethics say about providing mental health services via electronic media (such as computer, telephone, radio and television).

5) Participants will be able to differentiate between the concepts of “Confidentiality” and “Privileged Communication.”

6) Participants will be able to articulate the different mandatory reporting requirements for child abuse and elder abuse.


	CONDUCTED BY:
	Carole Bender, J.D., LCSW


	COORDINATED BY:
	Randy Faveau, MS    (213) 251-6864

E-mail : rfaveau@dmh.lacounty.gov


	DEADLINE:
	When maximun enrollment has been reached


	COST:
	None

	CONTINUING EDUCATION:
	6 hours for BBS, BRN, CADAAC 


Inside the DMH firewall?  Click here to register:                                 http://learningnet.lacounty.gov
Outside the DMH firewall?  Click here:                                               https://learningnet.lacounty.gov
DMH Employee Username & Password Help:              http://dmhhqportal1/sites/TCCB/default.aspx
Contract Employee:                                                 http://dmh.lacounty.gov/training&workforce.html
How to Search and Register for a Training in the Learning Net:  http://dmhhqportal1/sites/TCCB/How%20to%20search%20and%20register%20in%20the%20LNS/How%20to%20Search%20and%20Register%20for%20a%20Training%20in%20the%20LN.pdf
